Cartagena – October

I finally made it to a Caribefunk concert!

Oktoberfest (in November¯\_(ツ)_/¯ )

Bomba Estéreo Concert

Bucaramanga – November

El Santísimo

I traveled to Bucaramanga during our week off in November since I didn’t make it all the way during my first trip to Santander. There I went to the top of El Santisimo and enjoyed the sweets festival.  It was the best arequipe I’ve ever tasted!

Festival de dulces – Flor Blanca

 After Bucaramanga I went to Mesa de Los Santos.  This is still one of my favorite places in Colombia. The view of the canyon is amazing!

Mesa de los Santos

Some hostels are really into the open bathrooms…

View from Juan Palitos

20171111_062428

 Woke up at 5 am to watch the sunrise over the canyon.  It went from clear to completely full of clouds/fog within an hour.  Later that day I went hiking down into the canyon and was accompanied by the friendliest dog ever, Rasta. And I finally tried the region’s famous hormigas culonas – salty with a little crunch.

Cartagena – Nov & Dec

Goodbye to all my gringa friends!

All of the World Teach/Heart for Change volunteers that I met over the last year and a half finished their contracts in November.  It was sad to see them go but I’m so grateful that I had this group with me for so long in Cartagena.

ASPAEN Christmas Parade – so proud of all my students!

ASPAEN puts on their own Christmas parade with their students from GCI and GC.  Here are some of my 10th and 11th graders during their performance.

Cartagena at Christmas time

Last year I wasn’t in the city during December, but this year I was able to see all the lights and decorations in the old city.